View Full Version : AvantGo...Love It...Hate It!

S0larW1nds
07-29-2004, 03:25 PM
I'm new to the PPC game, I've had my Ipaq 2210 since January, thank goodness for PPCT with all the knowledge a techie could need.

AvantGo: Such a nice service and application. But the problems I have with them all seem so annoying and obvious why can't they be fixed.

Love the freeness but the 2Mb cache limit could be better.

Love the fact that you can cache any site/page (with or without images and link depth) since some may not have feeds available.

Hate the fact that if you do want even 1 link depth and the site has so many other links before the one(s) you really want that the channel size is quickly exceeded. Idea: can they allow a config page that allows you to select the links you want to follow or have you select which site directory you want stay in or drill down into e.g. http://site/reviews or http://site/reviews/cameraphones ya kno!

Hate the fact that one big link or image can kill the channel size limit even on a one page channel. So can't they allow an option that disregards links or images over a certain size so the other content is not lost?

Hate the fact that I emailed support and they totally dismissed these ideas I had.

Hate the fact that there may not be any other product out there as good or better than AGo, maybe with some of these features I mentioned.

Hate the fact that if you select not to follow offsite links in a channel that clicking on a link take you to an error page...couldn't it allow you to open the link in the browser if you are online or bookmark?

That's all for me; for now. But if I were a better programmer I would write an app that could do these things. Let me know what you think. Am I justified or am I just a babbling unsatisfied techie?

Have a Good one!

gregmills
07-29-2004, 04:49 PM
I hate the full screen ad they show me and that when I click "no thanks" it informs me that it will submit my response the next time it syncs.

Tap AvantGo