View Full Version : noob

dirtytexas070
07-07-2004, 06:11 AM
hey yall as the title would suggest im new to all this crazy stuff so i had a few questions.... ive read up a little bit on here and other places about the wireless technology (wi-fi, bluetooth, ect) and im starting to get the idea of what its about. by the way i have a dell axim x30. i was wondering if anyone could tell me specifically what wi-fi, bluetooth, wlan, avantgo, and any of these other things works and how to use them. for instance could i access the internet from anywhere using one of these options, or would i have to be within broadcasting range of my computer? thanks for your help. 8)

OSUKid7
07-07-2004, 04:11 PM
Bluetooth - only works if you have another device that your Pocket PC can pair with, or you have bluetooth access point. Much slower than WiFi, used for PDA-cellphone communication and PDA-PC syncing. The range on bluetooth varries, with different classes. Can't remeber the specifics because I rarely use bluetooth, but bluetooth is meant as a close-range cable replacement technology.