View Full Version : need advise with pocket internet browser

mr blondie
06-28-2004, 03:35 PM
hi all .i'm new to this forum so forgive me if this has been asked before .
i am thinking of buying a hp 4150 .as it has wifi .but i have never used one before .what i want to know is .is the web browser a full browser ,, as in not wap . as i have wap on my phone and is very poor in content ect . is a pocket pc usefull for looking at all kinds of web pages say like Ebay ..and so on . even this forum ..
i have been to may shops to look for a 4150 but they have no set up for the web so i never know if it will be any good to me ..
i use a laptop at the moment but it's still a bit large to carry around ..when you just want to check your ebay bids ect ..
many thanks in advance for all your help..

OSUKid7
06-28-2004, 03:52 PM
http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=258717

need I say more? :roll:

Pocket PCs use Pocket Internet Explorer (PIE). It is a full browser, in that you can visit any site on the web. However, because of the different screen size and resolution, many sites don't display properly in PIE. Just like every browser, PIE sends the name/version of the browser to every site you visit. Some web designers have created custom "PDA" sites that can take that browser name/version and give you a nice and custom site. Other sites use that information to display a "Please upgrade your browser" notice, and you can't access that site at all. However, most sites just display the regular page formatted for PCs. Therefore, you might view it fine, you might have to scroll the page, or the page may not display properly.

I'm not sure about ebay. My gut tells me they just display the page as usual, and you'd have to do a lot of scrolling. Maybe someone else can check that for you.

Janak Parekh
06-28-2004, 04:04 PM