View Full Version : mpg on pocket pc

bassboy_pete
05-28-2004, 08:39 AM
Hi everyone. I am new to the pocket pc system. I switched over from the Palm Os. Through some guides I found on the internet, I was able to do lots of things on my old palm. However, I now own a new ipaq 4150. I am mostly wondering if I am able to play mpg video files in the media player that came with the OS. I tried it, but said the file was not supported. Is there a plug-in, or another video player that can play mpgs? Or is there a guide on the internet that tells me how to do all this. I havn't found any good resources yet. Thanks

Pony99CA
05-28-2004, 10:16 AM
[...] I now own a new ipaq 4150. I am mostly wondering if I am able to play mpg video files in the media player that came with the OS. I tried it, but said the file was not supported. Is there a plug-in, or another video player that can play mpgs? Or is there a guide on the internet that tells me how to do all this. I havn't found any good resources yet.
You obviously haven't searched my Web site for MPEG. :-) If you had, you would have found a link to PocketTV (http://www.pockettv.com). For some reason, Microsoft hasn't seen fit to include MPEG playback in Windows Media Player.

Steve

dazcox5181
05-28-2004, 05:03 PM
Try BetaPlayer from http://betaplayer.corecodec.org its faster then pocketTV, pocketMVP etc plays avi/divx/mpeg and can use hardware acceleration. My XDA II gets 70fps on a ripped DVD full screen at Great quality.:)

bassboy_pete
05-28-2004, 06:33 PM
I will try both, and see which I like better. Thanks so much. But also, is there a guide that will tell me how to rip a dvd into a small file? I have a 256mb SD card as well. Thanks again.

dazcox5181
05-28-2004, 07:03 PM