View Full Version : Virus security

gajtguy
05-08-2004, 04:35 AM
I need some preparation for a meeting with our hospital infosec group. I am a physician pushing to upgrade areas of the hospital upto wireless. I know they will ask me about anti-virus software, among other things. Has anyone had any experience with this? Any recommendations? Is it overkill to even worry about such a thing? Thanks.

Kacey Green
05-08-2004, 06:49 AM
for now it is overkill, back when the first palm virus speculations occured, the AV vendors did palm and PPC AV programs, but if that was a long time ago.

Symantec and Mcaafee both will check files as the go to and from the PPC and AVG as well.

For wirless connected PPC, this is currently not a big issue, but I'm sure someone makes the products still.
I'll look for a link later if nobody else posts one before I wake up.

Pony99CA
05-08-2004, 07:34 AM
I need some preparation for a meeting with our hospital infosec group. I am a physician pushing to upgrade areas of the hospital upto wireless. I know they will ask me about anti-virus software, among other things. Has anyone had any experience with this? Any recommendations? Is it overkill to even worry about such a thing?
First, are you worried about Pocket PCs getting viruses or about your regular PCs getting viruses over your wireless upgrades?

If the former, there are some anti-virus programs for Pocket PCs, but they aren't really necessary (yet).

If the latter, I don't think wireless will significantly increase your exposure to viruses. If your PCs are running anti-virus software, you should be OK.

The thing that's more important to worry about with wireless is security. You don't want to have people accessing your network remotely, especially in a place with sensitive private information (like a hospital).

Of course, if you're a physician talking to IT people, I have to wonder why they would be asking about anti-virus software. They should be telling you what you should do.

Steve