View Full Version : Would you install a .NET based application?

codepunk
02-23-2004, 10:57 PM
I'm a developer looking at creating another application (I've done 2 so far). What are your thoughts concerning applications written using the .NET Compact Framework.

Jacob
02-23-2004, 11:03 PM
I usually wouldn't.

It tends to slow stuff down, plus there's the additional space taken up by the framework.

I voted for #3, but it's really a combo of the bottom three.

smileyguy
02-23-2004, 11:11 PM
Since I am still stuck in the stone age of PPC's (Casio EM-500) and limited to only 16MB of RAM, of which I only have 5MB left after a soft reset, .NET is nowhere on my radar. Maybe if I can convince the wife that I NEED a new device, I might consider it.

ombu
02-23-2004, 11:20 PM
I thought it was already in ROM for WM2003, am I right?

codepunk
02-23-2004, 11:28 PM

Yes. I guess I should have added a poll option of "Yes since I already have .NET CF in ROM". So the only other choice you have to decide on is if you perceive the speed to be different than a non .NET app.

Jacob
02-23-2004, 11:32 PM
Sorry, If forgot it was in ROM in WM2003.

In that case, I'd definitely try it. My experience hasn't been good in the past, but I've never tried an app that used it on WM2003.

ombu
02-24-2004, 12:16 AM

Yes. I guess I should have added a poll option of "Yes since I already have .NET CF in ROM". So the only other choice you have to decide on is if you perceive the speed to be different than a non .NET app.

Here (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=359EA6DA-FC5D-41CC-AC04-7BB50A134556&displaylang=en) is an update download for .NET Compact Framework, as I understand this runs in RAM, if so and if needed, I won't use more space for things that should be in ROM (Messenger, Reader updates i.e.), maybe a WM2003 ROM update will be here soon.

Regards.

Palm Cow
02-24-2004, 12:39 AM
I think that is was in the ROM of my 2k2 Toshiba e550G too, or it auto-installed it.