View Full Version : Should I..... ?

masaki
02-08-2004, 10:20 PM
Well, Friday afternoon at the office, I had to reinstall Microsft Office on my work computer. Asked my boss which CD I should use and the key for it. Much to my surprise, my boss told me to use a copy of Office XP Pro that was licensed to a client. He said it was *OK* to do that and Microsoft had never bothered him about it.

I installed it and activated it as well with the company info filled in. I had no choice because I had to finish something for work or my boss will f**king yell. I had a minidisc recorder with me and I taped him *telling* me what to use for Microsoft Office.

I've only been at this job for a month and my friend whom I graduated with in Oct works there too. We don't really care if we loose this job considering the boss is extremely verbally abusive to his staff. (Apparently, my boss told my friend if she continued to go out for lunch with me, he'd fire her. What's up with that???)

Is what I was told to do about installing Office legal? Should I really call MS?

Steven Cedrone
02-08-2004, 10:57 PM
Well, I am sure that the company that paid for the license would have something to say about it! If you don't technically own that licensed copy, then what you are doing is illegal. Period!

It sounds as if you and your friend should complain to HR about your boss. Nobody should be telling you to do things that are illegal, yelling at you, or telling you who you can and can't go to lunch with.

Just my .02

Steve

Janak Parekh
02-08-2004, 11:05 PM
Chances are he used a Volume License version if there was no activation process. However, if he's using a key licensed to a customer, that's almost definitely against the Volume License. A call to MS could very possibly prompt an audit. As to whether doing that or talking to HR is the correct resolution, that's something that will probably reside on whether or not the company has HR. ;)

--janak

Steven Cedrone
02-08-2004, 11:07 PM