View Full Version : Can I be charged for gprs if I didn't ask for it?

Candygogo
01-21-2004, 10:48 PM
Hi all,

I've been tooling with my Nokia 3650 for about 7 months with TZones. About a month ago, my TZones started to go on the fritz. TMobile couldn't help. So last night, I used my phone as a modem and connected it to my PPC. I used the gprs code to connect--and it did! Gprs is faster than gsm, and the bonus of not draining your cell min. is great.

Now I wonder, can TMobile tell that I'm using data internet instead of the TZones internet on the phone? I have unlimited TZones, so the MB aren't an issue.

dmy
01-22-2004, 12:20 AM
You need to be asking this on http://www.howardforums.com

Cheers, D.

PetiteFlower
01-22-2004, 12:24 AM
I don't know what TZones is....is that browsing with the phone? If so, then the answer is almost certainly YES. Whether they'll notice and actually do something about it is an unknown. I have Sprint Vision, unlimited wireless web. Technically, they intend it to be used with phone browsing only; but it works as a modem also; I'm sure they notice that I use it to connect another device sometimes, and based on the user agreement, they COULD yank my contract or charge me for the data; however logic tells me that they're not going to bother with that or even notice unless I'm using the gprs(or whatever set of letters it actually is, I have no idea) an inordinite amount of time, like if it was my main internet connection and I was on for hours every day.

If I were you I'd wait and see what my next bill looks like before I try connecting that way on a regular basis :)

pacemkr
01-22-2004, 12:29 AM
As far as I know T-Mobile now has free internet browsing with all their plans. This means you can make the connection through the code to gprs and not be charged anything. I did this with my father's phone and there are no charges. He doesnt have any intenet plan.

Candygogo
01-22-2004, 12:34 AM