View Full Version : PPC "hangs up" Any ideas?

b-adams
01-21-2004, 05:25 AM
I am new to PocketPC Thoughts, and look forward to learning from the site. I've been a PocketPC user for a few years now, and love these tools. I have used a couple different iPaq models, and about 6 months ago, migrated to the Samsung SPHi700 PocketPC Phone edition (which I also love).

One fairly common experience I had with the iPaqs, and now also with
the Samsung, is for the device to occasionally "hang up". When this
happens, the device seems to get stuck on, for no apparent reason,
often with the backlight on, and the only way to get the device to
respond at all is to perform a soft reset via the small recessed button
on the device. Until doing so, I can not even turn the device off. So
the result is that if this happens while the device is not visible, it
may be stuck on and fully drain the battery. I do regular backups, so
recovery is not that bad, but having an unexpected dead battery becomes
frustating.

My question is whether anyone knows if this is a fairly common occurance
with PocketPC users or not. If so, is there a general
recommentation of how to remedy it? Or, is there a debug tool
available that would allow me to capture a failure log / etc., so the
root cause could be identified and resolved? My "today plugins" are Battery Pack, Journal Bar and Calendar Bar. Thanks in advance for any advise available.

Janak Parekh
01-21-2004, 05:52 AM
I have an i700, and don't experience your problems (or if I do, maybe once a year or so). I don't use any of the three applets you do, though, so one of them could be a problem...

--janak

MikeInDallas
01-21-2004, 08:38 AM
:twisted: I have to reset my iPAQ 2210 at least once a day, usually more than that. I've had 3 iPAQs now, the first being the very first, the 3600, then later a 3675. Neither of them had this problem.