View Full Version : Basic Pocket PC Questions

sebjo
01-11-2004, 09:24 AM
I'm wondering if I can turn a wav or mp3 sound into a ppc alarm that can then be selected as a replacement for the standard system alarms.
Can anyone help?

David Prahl
01-11-2004, 08:06 PM
Sure! I have several Star Trek WAVs now instead of the default alarms. First of all, they need to be WAV files. If they're not, you can find plenty of free converters on the web. :google:

Copy them into the "My Documents" folder on your device.

Go in to the Sounds and Notifications area in the Settings menu, and change what you want.

szamot
01-12-2004, 07:37 AM
..errrr I think you actually have to put them in the Windows folder this way they will be visible in your drop down menu when you try to select them.

Aerestis
01-12-2004, 10:12 AM
Wow, I am new to this. Can I use my pocketpc as an alarm clock or something? or does it just make beep sounds when my calender comes to a certain time? That sounds insanely cool, so if it can, my day is made!

Vulcan
01-12-2004, 11:29 AM
PPC can fuction as an alarm clock....

Aerestis
01-12-2004, 11:37 AM
Excellent! I suppose it should be plugged in to a wall, though? Or can it run efficiently on batteries for simple tasks... If I could make one do that on batteries, then wow. I've been so hung up on so many things, and I really want one, but I want it to be a good investment. So all of the good things about it make me so much happier because I actually have a reason to get a new gadget

Andy Whiteford
01-12-2004, 01:26 PM
You can use it as an alarm clock plugged into a socket or running off the battery - it makes no odds as the device just wakes up from standby prior to the alarm going off. If you are using it for your early morning alarm call though, I would recommend leaving it plugged in overnight though to keep your battery topped up for the day ahead!

Aerestis
01-12-2004, 10:21 PM