View Full Version : What should I buy? (student)

swoosh
01-06-2004, 03:13 PM
Hi there!
I'm new @ the PDA world and I'm seriously thinking about buying a PDA. I'm a medicine student and it could help me a lot to 'store' some medicine handbooks in a PDA so I can quickly use the information I need.

What do you recommend? I don't want a PDA too expensive, but I would like one fast and helpful in my work/study.

Regards!

Janak Parekh
01-06-2004, 04:59 PM
Well, we're a Pocket PC site, so you're likely going to get recommendations you get a Pocket PC. ;)

That said, make sure the texts you need are readily available for Pocket PCs. The medical community has taken great strides in this, but historically they've had more for Palm.

Assuming the titles you want are available for the Pocket PC, there are a number of Pocket PCs that aren't that expensive yet are reasonably fast and powerful. One such unit is the HP iPAQ 1935. Fast, compact, reasonably expandable (SD slot).

--janak

swoosh
01-06-2004, 06:22 PM
What's your opinion about Asus A620 BT ?

Kati Compton
01-06-2004, 07:04 PM
What's your opinion about Asus A620 BT ?
It's supposed to be one of the fastest - good for emulation.

My husband has one, and I don't know that he's had anything negative to say about it.

Janak Parekh
01-06-2004, 10:53 PM
Also, do a search in the forums -- we've linked to a number of reviews on the A620(BT). I believe it's a bit more expensive, but certainly looks worthwhile.

--janak

swoosh
01-06-2004, 11:37 PM
Throughout the day I've been reading a lot of reviews about asus a620 and I think it is apropiate for me. As I said I want to use it mainly for quick consult of knowledge.
Thanks for all your help guys!

Linux_Zen
01-06-2004, 11:38 PM
Well, arent a lot of these medical databses/programs really big? Well, I would recommend something with a Compact Flash slot for memory (a larger, cheaper media)...like the h2215: