View Full Version : Compression

Stevoo187
12-31-2003, 09:25 PM
Hey Guys,

I'm new to this ppc encoding stuff (as you can tell if you've read my other posts) and i am overjoyed that i was able to create divx versions of my LOTR TTT and LOTR FOTR. However, they are still a bit too large to fit on my 256 sd card.. Any ideas on how i could compress the movies even more? Would lowering the bitrate and audio compression do the trick? Thx for your advice(especially surgical...lol)

Pat Logsdon
12-31-2003, 09:52 PM
Any ideas on how i could compress the movies even more? Would lowering the bitrate and audio compression do the trick? Thx for your advice(especially surgical...lol)
Yup - there are several things you can do. First, are you decimating your frames by 2? That's the most important thing to do to reduce file size. This is on the Video/Framerate menu. Also, make sure you're using Bicubic filtering on the Video/Filters/Resize window.

Second, a lower bitrate will help - I usually use 230, but I've gone as low as 200 with no real problems.

For audio compression, make sure you're using MP3 mono, not stereo - I usually use 32k, 22,050 Hz. I'd try stepping down the audio compression levels one a time and see what you can live with.

Two Tips:

First, if you're experimenting, it's easier to test with just a small slice of the original movie file. Use the "Set Selection Start" and "Set Selection End" commands in the File menu, then copy the selection and create a New file to paste it into. That way, you can try whatever settings you want on a much smaller file to see what works best for you. Saves quite a bit of time!