View Full Version : New in pocket pc, need advice

steve99
12-28-2003, 11:23 PM
Hello everybody;

I am new in this pocket pc technology but I am fascinated with what I think it can do.

I work in an office an a crucial part of my work is organization and communication.

I think a pocket pc can help me but I need your advice in which one could help me better.

I basically need to be able to check my e-mail when I am out of the office and use outlook as well.

I am thinking to buy an ipaq h5550.

What do you think?

David Prahl
12-28-2003, 11:55 PM
Welcome to the forums! :)

One of the most hotly debated topics in the PDA community is "which device is best?" Most people, including myself, agree that everyone has different needs, and therefore different ideal devices. First of all, keep in mind that all Pocket PCs run the same operating system, and only differ in specs and form factor (shape).

A few questions:

-How do you see yourself carrying the device? (Briefcase, belt, pocket).

-Do you need/want (same thing in these circles!) an integrated phone?

-Do you have a phone right now?

-What about 802.11b or Bluetooth? Do you know what they are, and do you need them?

-What kind of price range?

steve99
12-29-2003, 03:03 PM
Hello David;

-I will probably carry the PPC in a brief case but for sure not on the belt.

-I do not need an integrated phone.

-I have a phone but I plan to buy a new phone with bluetooth in order to connect to the internet with the PPC.

-The price range is around US$ 500.

-Do PPC's need modems? and if so are there PPC with modems integrated?

shawnc
12-29-2003, 03:31 PM
Steve,

I would also check cnet.com and read some of their reviews. I found them very helpful in my decision.

steve99
12-29-2003, 04:11 PM
Thanks;

I spent time reading the reviews on cnet. I was thinking about the ipaq h5555 but I am worried about my knowledge about PPC and that it will be a waist of money at my level.