View Full Version : .NET Compact Framework SP2 Re-Release

Andy Sjostrom
12-17-2003, 08:22 AM
<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=359EA6DA-FC5D-41CC-AC04-7BB50A134556&displaylang=en' target='_blank'>http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...&displaylang=en</a><br /><br /></div>Not long ago Microsoft released .NET Compact Framework Service Pack 2. After detecting a critical bug shortly after the release, Microsoft decided to pull it. Now, the bug is fixed and Service Pack 2 is available for download again. All Windows Mobile Software 2003 includes .NET Compact Framework and I would love to see Microsoft work out a process with OEMs that would make this update available as a XIP ROM update instead of this RAM update. More and more applications are written using .NET Compact Framework and as a developer I would like to be able to point the users to a ROM update download location instead of having to re-distribute .NET Compact Framework with all of my applications... for a RAM install. But that is another story! Now, I am celebrating the following list of .NET Compact Framework improvements! <!><br /><br />Performance &amp; Other Improvements List:<br />- Improved performance of many data tasks, including populating DataSets, searching DataTables, DataSet.ReadXml() method when a schema is used, finding and indexing operations, setting DataSet.EnableConstraints property <br />- Improved resource loading performance<br />- Minor GUI performance improvements<br />- Extend keyboard events to be enabled on all controls (Control.KeyUp, KeyDown, KeyPress)<br />- Added support for ForeColor &amp;/or BackColor for Button, Checkbox, ComboBox, DomainUpDown, Label, Listbox, ListView, NumericUpDown, RadioButton, Trackbar, TreeView<br />- Added support for new Smartphone languages: Finnish, Czech, Romanian, Slovakian, Norwegian, Hungarian, Polish, Turkish, Russian<br />- Improved Control.Enabled and Control.Parent property chang