View Full Version : MS Money PPC 2004 - mildly annoying US-centricity & alternatives

Jereboam
11-24-2003, 01:15 AM
From the UK website of Money -

Notes:

The version of Money for the Pocket PC that you download is an English version, not a British version and is therefore suitable for most English speaking countries. As a result, the dates are in US format and $ symbols will be shown instead of £ symbols – this will not cause problems with synchronisation.

Now...I'm no programmer but I can't think that adding international currency support and picking up the date format from the Pocket PC itself or making it user-selectable would take more than minutes, maybe hours, at most.

This is now (as far as I can remember) the fourth generation of Money on the PPC - and this is still left out of the feature set? I, personally, as the title says, am mildly annoyed with this.

Even for US users, I would think that many of you are travellers (hence a Pocket PC) and would welcome international currency support for your trips...

I think this is a serious omission on Microsoft's part. Once again to get pretty basic functionality I am prompted to look at third party applications.

Hence, any suggestions for alternatives that are worth looking at?

J'bm

PR.
11-24-2003, 02:29 AM
Heh, its not just limited to PPC Money, MS gave you the regional options then ignores it in most of their software...

As a system admin its always fun to have Win2k installed as English(U.K) then only to watch Office2k default install as English(U.S).

sublime
11-24-2003, 02:38 AM
Mastersoft Money

The program is great. I'm their #1 fan.

pablake
11-24-2003, 10:58 AM
If you are looking for full Money synchronisation Inesoft's Cash Organizer is the way to go. And it is perfectly happy with UK version of Money.