View Full Version : To upgrade or not... what should I do?

Guido
11-21-2003, 05:10 PM
Hi, I'm new to this and am looking for advice. I just picked up a used iPAQ 3650. Here are some details:

Product revision level: 1.0
ROM date: 12/26/00
ROM Revision: 1.69.00 ENG
OS Version: 3.0

Should I upgrade anything to never versions? Am I missing out on cool features if I don't upgrade? I'm don't plan on doing anything fancy with it (web browsing, wireless, etc) so unless an upgrade actually fixes a problem or adds/improves a feature, then I'd rather leave it as is since it's running fine.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Chris Spera
11-21-2003, 05:44 PM
If all you're going to do is simple PDA stuff, then you should be ok. The only problem you're going to bump into is the RAM limitation. You've only got 32MB of RAM in that device.

Pocket PC Techs can upgrade that device for a reasonable fee. (about as much as you'd spend on a decent SD card...if the 3600 could actually USE an SD card without a CF/ PC Card Sleeve and some sort of adapter...)

You can see the details here:
http://www.pocketpctechs.com/i3600up.asp

Please also remember that you will need sleeves for any sort of expansion. CF and PC Cards can only be used with sleeves. You can pick many of those up on eBay for a fraction of their original cost.

Let me know if you need any further help!

Kind Regards,

Christopher Spera

Guido
11-21-2003, 06:16 PM
Thanks for the reply. I don't think the 32mb ram would be a problem for a while - I use it mostly for appointments, notes, some Excel files and to view photos. I've downloaded and installed many programs and have yet to get a "no more memory" message. I'm sure there are killer aps that can't fit in my ipaq, but I'm really not interested in watching movies or editing photos or playing flight simulator games.