View Full Version : Listening to music over wi-fi

migliore
11-11-2003, 02:08 AM
I enabled wi-fi and can browse my mp3s on my desktop using the file explorer in my iPAQ 4155. How do I actually listen to them (or view images)?

Can you not "execute" these files? There is an associated WMP icon.

I've tried opening the files from inside the WMP application, but it doesn't seem to work. The only options are "playlist" and "open url" (which doesn't work when I try to feed it the network path \\machine\desktop documents\shared music, etc).

Must I copy the file over first? Seems silly.

Complete newbie here - thanks for the help,
Rob

JonnoB
11-11-2003, 02:55 AM
If you have an application lise Resco File Explorer, you can map a network source as a local device and then run the file with the associated application. You can also get a free network mapping tool like NetUse to do the same.

dean_shan
11-11-2003, 03:06 AM
If you don't have resco explorer you can make a short cut to the music files you want and put them on your PPC. WMP will see them and you can play it that way.

ctmagnus
11-11-2003, 04:20 AM
I got around this issue by telling Resco Explorer to show the network as "Network" folder under "My Device". I was then able to connect to 5+ GB of audio files in WMP. Although it was rather slow to get the full listing of them all initially.

Evee Ev
11-19-2003, 04:42 PM
i have resco and i tried mapping a drive. can this be done via activesync? i want to listen to some mp3's on a shared drive. resco seems to be unable to find any networks attached even after i put in my own ip address for my local machine. any hints...?

Sven Johannsen
11-19-2003, 06:21 PM
i have resco and i tried mapping a drive. can this be done via activesync?

No, network mapping, whether using the Built in File Explorer, or a third party one, will not work from the cradle, via ActiveSync. You must have some sort of direct network connection, wired, WiFi, BT Lan profile, RAS via a modem connection.