View Full Version : Total newbie question

freakygreek
11-04-2003, 01:17 AM
As you will see my question confirms of how much of a newb I am. I was trying to copy files(music) to my sd card using real one, but was unable to have real one reconize my sd. Adding a new device didn't help either Hp was not listed as a supported portable device. After much tearing of paper,I let MR.Furious out, :evil: I happened to notice that I also had Wmp and through a help file I quickly realized there was still hope for me. :D . After much trial and error I finally copied music files to my SD card. It was a joyeous occassion. I was thinking of buying a card reader/writer thinking file copying would be easier what do u guys think.

Many Thanks

spursdude
11-04-2003, 01:20 AM
The easiest method is, like you mentioned, to get a card reader. That way your SD card shows up just as another drive in "My Computer" and you can drag and drop, and there's nothing getting in the way of the speed of your transfers.

The second to easiest method is to use ActiveSync - with ActiveSync on the PC, when connected, click "Explore" and then you can find where you want to put the files on your PPC (or SD card in your PPC) and drag and drop, although the files transfers will be slightly slower.

I really don't recommend at all using any other programs like RealOne or WMP for the file transfer (and I don't recommend using RealOne for anything, in fact :evil: ).

szamot
11-04-2003, 07:33 AM
well you can always right click on the active sync icon, explore and paste the files in. Works like charm everytime. Not as fast as card reader but free. RealONE is best left uninstalled.

freakygreek
11-04-2003, 02:08 PM