View Full Version : Options for wireless internet?

funk3r
10-27-2003, 03:12 AM
I own a 2215 and want to get online wireless. As of right now I don't have a cell phone, and thats the only way that I heard that you can get online. Is there another way to do it?

ps, i'm a newbie to all the pocket pc technical terms, soo please explain the vocab words if you use them :lol:

delfuhd
10-27-2003, 03:22 AM
Well, also, if you have a cable internet service provider, you can bye a wireless access point, and a WLAN CF card for your 2215, and through that way you can get on the net... It's kind of hard to explain without getting technical, well for me it is... But there are many ways besides a cell phone. Bluetooth, as well, can be used... but I'm not too familiar with bluetooth... Sorry if this doesn't help lol, but you have lots of options

funk3r
10-27-2003, 03:36 AM
About the wireless acces point thing, would that mean I could surf the net while I'm walking down the streets or driving in the car?

Crazie.Eddie
10-27-2003, 04:58 AM
The access point would have to be a router, but that's only within limits to your house. For the mobile access, there are 2 types. One is similar to the previous mentioned, you would still need to get a Wi-Fi CF card on your Ipaq and you can access local hotspots in your area, like Starbucks, McDonalds, etc. You would have to find out which areas have them. YOu will not be able to drive around using this, but just have to be in those hotspots I mentioned.