View Full Version : Skweezer, MultiIE, NetFront, ThunderHawk

Jereboam
10-22-2003, 08:30 PM
Now that a new version of MultiIE is out and it supports easy use of the Skweezer service, just wanted to ask...

Has anyone here used or currently has Skweezer? Is it worth the subscription, and more importantly, does it work well?

This would address one of my "doesn't make the grade" complaints...

Oh and I'm hearing of hard resets with MultiIE...if anyone hears anything re a fix or what the problem is...

In fact, I've come back and edited this a little...I'd very much like to hear any opinions on NetFront and ThunderHawk as well...

Which gives the best browsing bang for the buck? I like the VGA-ness of ThunderHawk, but like the concept of Skweezer/MultiIE for GPRS use...

Any commentary much appreciated.

Thanks, J'bm

Robb Bates
11-03-2003, 07:23 PM
I have a subscription to skweezer. I got it cause it looked cool and I was only using 9600 bps GSM dial up. It helped a bit, but now that I have a h2215 and a T610 with GPRS, I don't need it.

It works ... uh ... OK. I've had problems with anything but straightforward web sites. It is useful as a web based email client that I've used on school computer terminals.

Basically, get it only if you have a real need for it. Otherwise, it's not of much use.

Robb

Southway
11-04-2003, 06:00 AM
Personally, I prefer to view web pages in the way they are intended. But, sometimes it is handy to either get the web page to fit to the screen or if I am using a GPRS connection I prefer just text.

For MultiIE 3, I worked on a mode to smartly re-format the HTML screen to fit, and to strip graphics, etc. I had something workable, but I really wasn't that impressed with it so I pulled it from release 3.0.