View Full Version : Generally what is better: Bluetooth or Wifi?

Vasant56
10-16-2003, 08:50 PM
Ok, I'm a total BT/WiFi newbie. All I really know is that they allow for wireless data transfer and such. I was wondering the difference between the two, and what makes one superior to the other. Also, are they compatible with eachother?

Any links you can provide would be nice too (although I like a "2nd person perspective").

THANKS

JustMe
10-16-2003, 09:05 PM
The two cannot be compared directly.

Think of bluetooth as infrared without the line of sight restriction. meant to replace the clutter of cables.

WiFi - ethernet network connections without the cables.

Sure they're both wireless technologies, but they have distinct and different purposes as well as advantages over the other.

JM

Some links:
What is bluetooth http://searchmobilecomputing.techtarget.com/sDefinition/0,,sid40_gci211680,00.html

WiFi http://searchmobilecomputing.techtarget.com/sDefinition/0,,sid40_gci838865,00.html

Sven Johannsen
10-16-2003, 09:30 PM
WiFi tastes great, but BT is less filling. As has been mentioned, they are different technologies to solve different problems. They can be used interchangeably for some things, just as you can use a hammer to drive in a screw, but they each have their niche.

WiFi is wireless network, BT is wireless cable/wire. The connections between your desktops and the server and router is the network. Replace it with WiFi. The connection between you PC and printer, your Cell phone and earpiece is wire between to devices. Replace it with BT.

Your network joins things in different rooms, WiFi. Your wires join things that are on different parts of your desk, BT.

Can I hook two PCs together with an ethernet cable and just have them talk to each other? Sure I can, but that is not what that network technology was intended for. Can I get a BT hub and 'network' several devices together? Sure, but that is nor what that technology was designed for.