View Full Version : opinions on e355 for ppc newbie

intouch99
10-06-2003, 06:33 PM
hello,

i noticed that amazon has the e355 for $179 after rebate here:
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00009K7ET/ref%3Dnosim/10108121979-20/104-6892352-8538361

i am new to ppc and was wondering if this would be a good deal or if i should wait for new models. i dont need wireless or blue tooth, so i thought this was a good model. any thoughts?

greg

powder2000
10-06-2003, 07:17 PM
You could wait on the new low end Dell, due out this year. It has roughly the same specs and will cost in the sub-200 range without rebates. Another option would be to go for the ipaq 1935( I think this is the model) without bluetooth. This is an excellent value pocket pc and is $250 with a $50 rebait. I have seen it at 230 without the rebate around the web. Do a pricegrabber search.

moonlights
10-09-2003, 03:00 AM
I own a Toshiba 355, and I love it. The exapansion capabilities are wonderful and the battery life is pretty good (granted, I used to own a Palm 7x and anything is better than that!). I actually use it instead of a laptop to take notes in class. Pocket PC's were a wonderful invention. I have a few mobile Toshiba products and all are great. I even dropped (oops) my toshiba laptop (by accident of course) and it still runs great. Toshiba makes a good product.

I also briefly owned not one, but two Dell Axims and I would seriously suggest that you not purchase a dell. Both of them had the same problem (one that randomly changes settings and deletes files is one thing, but TWO??) and fighting with Dell to get a refund is a pain in the a$$. Turns out they lost my shipment back to them. . . and credited MY CREDIT to someone else. . . but I'm not bitter.

Also, one of my good friends has a low end IPAQ and that's treated her pretty well.

I hope this helps you decide (also, $179 is a good deal for the 355)

jaded
10-09-2003, 03:37 PM