View Full Version : WiFi Activesync with WM2003 and WinXP?

theon
09-25-2003, 07:51 PM
I really hope someone can help me.

Been trying to activesync and connect to the internet via Wifi for days. All the forums I have found refer to items I can't seem to find in my PPC. Are they all for 2002 systems?

I can connect my 5450 with my desktop. both sides show a strong connection. However, I can't seem to do anything with it! :oops: Somebody help me!

P.S. I have never used any sort of WiFi before so please go easy on the tech terms! :wink:

Maybe I should be more specific?

I'm running a 5450 and using a USB Wireless Adapter running on WinXP. Can someone please help? Need sleep... :cry:

ssnukala
09-29-2003, 04:01 PM
I have IPAq 5555, with PPC 2003.
Eventhough your computer detects your PPC and you have a strong signal, it will not launch active sync automatically.

Here is what you need to do

1. Place the PPC in IR range
2. Once the signal shows on your laptop, launch activesync on your PPC
3. Initially this will show "Not Connected"
4. You have to connect manually by selecting "Connect via IR" in the TOOLS menu (on the bottom left)

This should establish the connection via IR. This works for me.

Let me know if it works for you.

Srini

Julio
09-29-2003, 10:43 PM
Hello,

I think that the problem that you are experiencing is that your PPC cannot find the right computer to sync with. Everyone has had this problem and it is not documented well on how to go about fixing it. :?

When syncing over Wifi or Ethernet, you have to tell the PPC the IP address of the right computer to sync with. Here is how:
- first establish a partnership between the desktop computer and your PPC using the sync cable
- you will need to set static IP addresses on both the PPC and the desktop computer (no DHCP)
- in the Wifi network card setup (under Settings->Connection), set the static IP configurations for the network card.