View Full Version : Want to go wireless (need advice)...

grendel
09-07-2003, 02:34 AM
I just purchases a new Ipaq 2215 and love it. I am moving to Nashville in 2 weeks (from Puerto Rico) and will be setting up a new wireless account. I'm thinking of going with T-mobile so i can use their data options.

I want to buy a BT enabled phone but I have no need for all the extra gadgets (camera, pda, etc.). I was thinking of purchasing a Sony Ericsson R520 on ebay, but on Amazon.com, I can purchase a new T616 for less or a new Nokia 3650 for FREE after rebates (despite the fact that I don't need all of their widgets). Unfortunately, amazon't T616 is for ATT, not T-mobile, and I'm not sure if it comes locked, which is a whole different can of worms, and I don't like the size and short talk time on the Nokia....

Ultimately, I don't even NEED the whole BT/wireless thing, I just think it would be cool to have...

So anyway, what would you do if you were in my shoes? Any advice? I'm new to all of this but love the technology. I just can't afford to spend much right now...

Janak Parekh
09-07-2003, 04:23 AM
The Nokia 3650 is by far your best bet from Amazon. It'll take some time to get used to the dial, but the phone is pretty stable and it has amongst the best reception of GSM phones. And it's cheap (that is, after you get your mail-in rebates reimbursed). Be careful about the talk time ratings; the Nokia should be pretty good. It is a bit larger than the T610, but I don't think it's too bad.

BTW, if you want the T-Mobile equivalent of the T616, it's the T610, and Amazon does carry it -- albeit for the price of $80.

If you honestly ask my opinion, though, all of this is dependent on T-Mobile having good coverage where you live. T-Mobile sucks in my home, as opposed to Verizon, so I'm in the process of switching.

--janak

grendel
09-07-2003, 06:02 AM