View Full Version : Anyone have experience with the Ericcson T39m?

FlyPenFly
08-02-2003, 10:10 AM
I'm thinking about buying this or R520 through ebay so I can use the GPRS through bluetooth on my ipaq 2210. Just wondering if anyone had any experiences to share.

JvanEkris
08-02-2003, 04:29 PM
I have been using it for about two years now, loving it every minute.....

Jaap

fmcpherson
08-02-2003, 06:20 PM
I also use a T39m. However I had to send it in to have it upgraded before it would work with GPRS.

mountainfrog
08-02-2003, 06:58 PM
I have used both a T39m and a R520m with T-Mobile. They are both solid phones. I have used bluetooth successfully with a Jabra BT200 headset and with an iPaq 2215 and an iPaq 5555 for GPRS. The bluetooth was easy to setup and use.

The T39 is about 30% smaller that the R520 and is a flip phone instead of a candy bar style. I prefer the R520 as I like the larger display and the larger keypad. The R520 has a funny shape in that it is fairly wide but very, very thin. Most candy bar style phones are narrow and thick. It is a very solid feeling phone.

The t39 is smaller which makes it easier to wear on your belt. It is very compact and has a smaller keypad and display. The antenna does stick up a bit but it is a very solid antenna. You are not going to break it off without doing a lot of damage to the phone. In my area, the R520 does seem to get slightly better signal strength than the t39. It is not significant enough, though, to abandon one phone for the other.

I believe that you cant go wrong with either phone. It just depends upon your preference between a flip phone and a candy bar style phone. They both have excellent battery life. Both phones have similar features such as profiles, voice dialing, vibrate, calendar, etc. The real big difference is that the r520 has a speakerphone but the t39 does not. The r520 also has voice memo capabilty. I am not sure if the t39 has this or not.

HTH

-Julie

hollis_f
08-02-2003, 08:53 PM