View Full Version : Good PPC Software for Musicians?

maikii
07-12-2003, 05:40 PM
I am a musician and music teacher, and just got my first PPC (IPAQ 2210), so of course I am curious about what I can do with the thing musically, since it's so handy to carry anywhere.

Of course I've already discovered that it can play music, in WMA format with the included WMP, or in other formats with add-on software. In fact, last night, I tried it in my car, with a cassette adapter going into my car stereo, and it sounded great. As I have bought two large memory cards for it (a 512 GB CF, and a 256 GB SD), I might gradually put a large amount of music on the cards, and use the unit as my main car music player, other than the radio. (OT, but anyone know of a good car holder for PDAs, to attach it to the dashboard?)

Although the PPC doesn't seem to be able to play MIDI files as it comes (surprises me, that WMP 9 for PPC won't play MIDIs), I see there are downloadable MIDI players, such as Pocket MIDI. (I have downloaded that, but not yet tried it.) (Surprised that PPC 2003 doesn't come with a built-in software synthesizer, as normal Windows has had for a couple of years, but I guess these MIDI programs for PPC come with their own sounds.

But---what software is there for creating music, for music practice, etc.? WMP and other programs will play back audio, but what about editing it? I just saw another thread asking about that, and one program was mentioned, which I just downloaded. Any others? Can the mentioned software (or others) speed up or slow down a selection of audio, without changing key, or vice versa, change key without changing tempo?

And what about sequencers? Any good ones?

Any auto-accompaniment programs similar to "Band-In-A-Box"? ("Band-In-Your-Pocket"? ;-) ) That would be great, to be able to carry around-- a whole practice machine in your shirt pocket!