View Full Version : Which CF card would YOU buy?

tok129
07-08-2003, 07:51 AM
I am new to PPC's and flash media memory. I am considering investing in a 1 GB CF card for my newly acquired IPAQ2215. I have read some of the other topics on this issue and have gathered some valuable information from this site. My mind is pretty much made up as to which one I'll buy but I would like to see what some you think from past experiences, word-of-mouth, etc.. It would be helpful if you posted some comments/experiences/personal preferences/etc. to go with your answer :)

Thanks for your input.

p.s. This site is great - it's good to have such a valuable information source to supplement my new found love of PPC :D

Janak Parekh
07-08-2003, 03:45 PM
I would avoid type II, unless it's much cheaper. I don't think it makes a big price difference anymore, and you're limiting the kinds of devices (such as cameras) which you can use.

--janak

tok129
07-08-2003, 07:59 PM
I would avoid type II, unless it's much cheaper. I don't think it makes a big price difference anymore, and you're limiting the kinds of devices (such as cameras) which you can use.

--janak

Thanks for the advice janak.

I haven't seen any real differences in prices between the two types. Does this mean that digital cameras (or most of them anyway) only accept type I CF and not type II :?: I thought that type II was the newer (and presumably better) technology :?: Do some CF cards work better for cameras and some work better for PDA's :?:

Also, has anyone had any experiences with differing quality from the same manufacturer but different cards (i.e. 256MB vs. 512 MB from same company) :?: I have read that the 256 SanDisk CF cards are more unstable than other SanDisk cards and I am wondering if this is also true with other manufacturers.

Sorry about all the questions. Any advice would be very helpful.

Janak Parekh
07-08-2003, 08:03 PM