View Full Version : Newbie questions: iPaq 2215 accessories

Taha
07-05-2003, 06:50 PM
Hello All

I'm a recent convert to the PPC platform (ex-Palm V owner) and just purchased a shiny new iPaq 2215. Apologies for the newbie questions:

- I am a consultant and spend Mon-Fri on the road. My bag is heavy enough without lugging the bulky adaptor and charger around. Can anyone direct me to a lighter solution? Preferably, a combined charger/sync cable -- is that even possible?

- The included case is ok but I went out and bought the Rhino Skin case for my Palm V as soon as it was available. Is there an equivalent now for the 2215?

- I have been "lurking" on this site for a couple of weeks and have enjoyed the posts and the information available. Someone mentioned that the "X" method of closing apps didn't actually close apps. What is the correct way to do this? Also, I recall someone else posting that you should really use another freeware/shareware app?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Taha

TawnerX
07-05-2003, 08:18 PM
1 There are several options.
-car adaptor,
-buy additional battery. (tho' you will still need to remember to carry them and charge them)
-Battery extender (this involve AA battery, and a plug that charge the unit)
-USB cable/charger (you can leach power out of laptop/desktop)

I would say a combination of those. (eg. put all those things everywhere, so if you forgot one thing, there are another options)

3. Icbar, popular choice.
http://icbar.ictinus.com/

Crystal Eitle
07-05-2003, 08:41 PM
- I am a consultant and spend Mon-Fri on the road. My bag is heavy enough without lugging the bulky adaptor and charger around. Can anyone direct me to a lighter solution? Preferably, a combined charger/sync cable -- is that even possible?

Get a BoxWave MiniSync www.boxwave.com, or a Lil'Sync from PPC Techs. It's a retractable sync/charge cable. I have a MiniSync and I love it.

Taha
07-06-2003, 05:26 PM
The mini-sync from boxwave.com is just what I am looking for!