View Full Version : Some newbie questions

RealCf
05-20-2003, 12:37 PM
Hello to everyone!

I am 17 years old and I am planning to buy the 400 Mhz version of Dell Axim X5.
Since I am a student I will be taking it to school. I am planning to:
1- Download documents to my main PC and transfer them to my Pocket PC
2- Buy a good chess playing program like pocket fritz
3- Buy a memory extension larger than a CD (for watching films and listening to mp3s, 1 Gb would do it) when it is cheap enough (about 100 dollars, I cannot possibly afford prices much more expensive than that!)

My questions to all "ppc experts" out there:

1- The screens of those pocket pcs are so small. Don't you have any problems like having to scroll a lot, when reading e-books or .doc documents?
2- When will the 1GB CF cards be cheap enough by my definition?
3- How is the sound and video quality of pocket pcs when listening to Mp3s or watching videos?
4- Is there a peer to peer server like Kazaa for exchange of pocket pc programs?

Thanks!

rhmorrison
05-20-2003, 12:54 PM
First of all - WELCOME to the wonderful world of Pocket PC's!

Here some comments:

1. It depends on what font size you use and how fast you read, but YES, in general you will be doing more scrolling/paging then if you were reading with a large screen monitor. I have read numerous ebooks (using Microsoft Reader) and I enjoyed the experience.

2. Hard to say, right now you can find them for around $ 200. I suspect it will be a couple years before they hit your magic $ 100 level.

3. It depends on your hardware of course (and the encoding when talking about videos). General the MP3's have EXELLENT quality and the sound quality on videos is usually not as good to reduce bandwidth.

4. There are numerous web sites that have FREE PocketPC programs. Search the site for a list as this has been a theme of discussion many times.