View Full Version : MP3s and size

animlmed
05-16-2003, 08:36 PM
Ok all, is there any way to alter the format of an MP3 to decrease its size? Perhaps adjusting the quality of it? Thanks in advance for any info!

trachy
05-16-2003, 08:42 PM
You can use any number of programs to modify the bitrate, which will significantly affect the size of each file. You can make it anywhere from 8Kbps to 320Kbps, typically. Another way to tweak the size of your MP3s is to try MP3 vs. MP3 Pro. Pro is a newer algorithm that rips at 64Kbps and still produces respectable sound.

Take MP3 advice (mine included) with a grain of salt. Some people are concerned with the subtle differences between formats, while others aren't.

Oh yeah - welcome to PPC Thoughts!

animlmed
05-16-2003, 08:51 PM
Why thank you. :) I've enjoyed reading and learning here, and i decided to join in on the conversation.:) Im new to MP3's. Ive hd my toshiba for a while, but MP3s are a new technology to me. I'd love to be able to decrease the amt of space they take up. Thanks for the advice!

trachy
05-16-2003, 09:05 PM
One last thing - you don't necessarily have to corner yourself into MP3s. Give the OGG and WMA formats a try. You may find you can get smaller files with acceptable quality out of these as well.

Good luck!

Kati Compton
05-16-2003, 09:10 PM
If you're going to convert MP3s to either smaller MP3s or to a different file format, I would instead suggest re-ripping the songs direct from the CDs into the new format. The problem is that MP3 (and ogg and WMA) are all "lossy" compression techniques. Some of the information gets thrown away to make the file smaller. So what happens when you re-encode is that you end up losing much more of the file data than you would encoding it directly, as compressing at differnet rates or with different formats chooses different bits of data to throw out. Essentially, anyway.

Unreal32
05-16-2003, 10:02 PM
Shorten the song. Who needs a whole song anyway? :lol: :wink:

trachy