View Full Version : YOU guys might know....hyperlinking

fireflyrsmr
04-27-2003, 06:56 PM
I got a news letter that talked about hyperlinking from contacts out to pictures. they had this command in the form of file://\stuff\filename.jpg

I've played around with this and it works for HTM files since this command seems to activate PIE. I couldn't seem to get it to work for jpg even when i associated the file with PIE. This linking to HTM files works in several places that i tried - like inside Pocket Slides, and a Word document. At this point I think i've got that down. :) Now I'd like to go the next step and link to any document and have it fire up the appropriate application. 0X Pocket Mind Map does this. I'm not a developer so i'm not looking to create some code. the learning curve would be immense for something so small. What i've ofter wanted was a way to hyperlink files to a meeting in my calendar.

So - I think what i'm looking for is a similar one line magic command that starts windows explorer and navigates a path. Can that happen?

Ian Hanschen
05-21-2003, 05:11 PM
I do:

SHELLEXECUTEINFO sei;
memset(&sei, 0, sizeof(SHELLEXECUTEINFO));
sei.cbSize = sizeof(SHELLEXECUTEINFO);
sei.fMask = SEE_MASK_NOCLOSEPROCESS;
sei.lpVerb = L"open";
sei.nShow = SW_SHOWNORMAL;
sei.lpFile = L"iexplore";
sei.lpParameters = szUrl;
ShellExecuteEx(&sei);

Where szURL is the url you are interested in opening. I can't remember if just executing a URL worked, but I think I had problems with that.
-Ian

fireflyrsmr
09-05-2003, 01:55 AM
:jawdrop: what is that code and where would i put it? I don't really expect an answer but i would appreciate a hint on where to find the answers. After following a lead from Andy in one of his posts I found the MSDN home. that sent me to an article by Mike hall.

http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=15085&highlight=sdk

Mike Hall "Windows ce.net application development: what are my options?"