View Full Version : iPAQ 5455 Problems :(

jeffrey
04-26-2003, 07:20 PM
Hi folks, new here, hoping maybe some of you well-versed Pocket PC afficianados can help me out. :)

Let me get to the brunt of it...

I'd wanted to get a Pocket PC for a while for a number of things: organize all my crap (phone numbers, addresses, etc) take advantage of the terminal services at my office, WLAN at home, etc. Basicly, I'd finally found one that had all the features that I wanted.

Small bit of backround on me: I'm an IT manager for a large land-title insurance underwriter, hold numerous certs (CCNP, CCDA, MCSE, MCP, etc, not that they mean anything :)), and am very versed in most all things computer-related seeing as it's my job.

In otherwords, I'm not a newbie. :lol:

So anyway, yesterday I bought it and...

Today I'm returning it. :(

Here's what's happening:

When I first got the unit I powered it up as recommended and did the setup bit, yadda yadda, then the "Low backupbattery" warning came on. So I figured "ok, low battery, no biggie". I put the adapter in the unit and plugged it into the wall and continued to mess around with it for a good half an hour or so.

Then I setup the cradle. I figured I'd just let it sit there and charge while I finished my work so I could mess around with it later that night at home. Then I hear a noise "BING" I look at it, it's soft re-set itself. "Hrm" I think. I just shrug it off and go back to work. Then it does it again "BING", so I watch it this time. As soon as it gets to the "desktop" again "BING" re-sets again. Now it's re-setting every 5-10 seconds. Then one final time, it re-sets and will not even boot to the desktop. It stops at the "hp iPAQ pocket pc" splash screen.