View Full Version : How long does the standard battery last for most people?

guinness
04-24-2003, 05:34 AM
I'm becoming convinced that my battery isn't up to snuff. I run my Axim at full brightness about 90 % of the time and I can usually get about 3 hours of use before it begins to die. This a replacement unit that I got back in Jan, the first one I had for about a week before sending it back and I never really noticed the battery life that it had. Would Dell replace the battery even though I've been using it for about 3 months?

PetiteFlower
04-24-2003, 05:40 AM
3 hours of use doing what? That makes a big difference. I almost never have mine at full brightness anyway, 50-75% is all I need most of the time. But if I spend 3 hours listening to music with the screen off, I'll probably be in the 60-70% battery range I think. What do you mean by it "begins to die"? That's not very specific.

QYV
04-24-2003, 07:23 AM
I'm not surprised by your results - from what I've read, the screen lighting is the most battery-intensive aspect of any Pocket PC. I keep my Axim at the lowest brightness setting and find it very usable indoors, and the battery lasts forever. With my old iPAQ 3600, it got to the point where I'd see half the battery drained after an hour of writing text with Transcriber on the lowest brightness setting, so I'm extremely pleased with the Axim's battery life.

Are you by chance a Palm user? Palm-based devices have historically had significantly better battery life than Pocket PCs, so if your Axim is your first PPC, you might be unpleasantly surprised in that regard.

TopDog
04-24-2003, 10:10 AM
I run my Axim at full brightness about 90 % of the time and I can usually get about 3 hours of use before it begins to die.
Why having it at 90%? I have it on third lowest and think it's excelent there! Light eats battery on any device.

bdegroodt
04-24-2003, 02:03 PM