View Full Version : Building a Web Page......any advice?

nosmohtac
04-04-2003, 06:05 AM
I want to build a web page for my coworkers to share informations and ask and answer questions.
Being the tech-savvy bunch that you are, any help or suggestions would be appreciated. I would most likely be using MS Front Page, and it isn't going to be big enough to need a dedicated server so any and all info on free or inexpensive web hosting would be greatly appreciated.
I've never done this before, so basically I'm asking for the do's and don'ts as well as the how-tos.

Pony99CA
04-04-2003, 07:43 AM
I want to build a web page for my coworkers to share informations and ask and answer questions.
Being the tech-savvy bunch that you are, any help or suggestions would be appreciated. I would most likely be using MS Front Page, and it isn't going to be big enough to need a dedicated server so any and all info on free or inexpensive web hosting would be greatly appreciated.
I've never done this before, so basically I'm asking for the do's and don'ts as well as the how-tos.
If it's for coworkers, won't your company give you Web space?

You might also try a search on :google: using free Web hosting. There seem to be a lot of hits, but those won't necessarily tell you how good they are. Hopefully someone here will, but, if not, try searching on free Web hosting ratings.

If you want people to ask questions in a forum-like area (like this), you'll probably need PHP and database support, but I don't know about running anything like that.

Steve

lonesniper
04-04-2003, 09:16 AM
I strongly recommend ICDSoft (http://www.icdsoft.com) for your cheap webhosting. They work out at $5 a month, give you the domain registration, 333mb of space, PHP and mySQL.
I have 4 sites with them for the past 2 years and only ever had a minor database problem which was solved via email in about 30mins.

Give them a serious look.
Colin

Pat Logsdon
04-05-2003, 12:07 AM