View Full Version : AXIM and GSM/GPRS CF Expansion Card.

maximus
03-27-2003, 11:48 AM
Friends,

I am new to this PPC stuffs :oops: so, please bear with me.

A short question for owners of AXIM X5. Have anyone of you succesfully connect an AXIM to a GSM/GPRS CF Expansion Card, like the Audiovox RT8000 ?

If yes, is the connection stable ?

Anyone know where can I purchase the Audiovox RT8000 ? or any other similar product ?

I would really like to retire my motorola T720 mobile phone, and put the sim card on a PPC.

The T720 is nice, sadly there is no way to directly download customized ringtones and images from a PC. :(

Thanks for the info.

TopDog
03-27-2003, 12:20 PM
I use Axim and Audiovox RTM-8000 every day!

I don't use the Audiovox for speach. The IA Style Dialer that comes with it, sucks big time... If you buy Running Voice GSM, that works perfectly, but eats batterypower for breakfast, so buy the 3400mAh battery to the Axim. Sound quality is excelent!

If you only want it for GSM Data/GPRS, I highly recommend it, no installation, just plug and play. Is extremely stabel, and don't use any batterypower when not connected. When connected, it uses very little batterypower.

I don't believe the Audiovox is in sale in USA, but I might be mistaken, where do you live?

bdegroodt
03-27-2003, 03:29 PM
Anyone know where can I purchase the Audiovox RT8000 ? or any other similar product ?

http://www.expansys.us/product.asp?code=RTM8000

maximus
03-28-2003, 01:57 AM
Thanks everyone.

I ordered the RT8000 from expansys site, seems that they are out of stock. Any suggestions on alternate sites ? I checked major online stores, no luck :?

bdegroodt
03-28-2003, 01:59 AM
Thanks everyone.

I ordered the RT8000 from expansys site, seems that they are out of stock. Any suggestions on alternate sites ? I checked major online stores, no luck :?