View Full Version : Dreaming a bit

phanprod
03-14-2003, 08:21 PM
I originally posted this at pdacorps.com - but I figure I'll spread the rambling a bit. Perhaps I'll get someone with the ability into a thinking mode...

Ok, I figured I'd rant a bit about some things I wish I could find for my iPAQ, but don't seem to exist...

Ok, I should preface this by saying that I'm NOT a programmer by any stretch of the term, so I can't do these things myself (without a whole bunch of learning involved...). So that being said, on with the rant...

For instance, IR features. I know the PDA can transfer data and control my tv... but there must be more.

I work in a theatre. Not a movie theater, but a live production venue just outside of NYC. Now, we have an Infra-red listening system installed. I would love to find a way to analize the signal coming out of those things - frequency response, signal quality & strength... that sort of thing. It would be extremely benificial to properly aim the transmitters and adjust the equalization, etc. It'd also be fun to play with whenever your at a boring movie show or something like that.

Also, an IR strength meter in general would be nice. Something to test the level of IR present for assistance in covert lighting. It's how we see the stage when the lights go out. I could have used that when I worked in the security industry as well - to check the night vision camera setups.

Off on a different direction, how about an automobile computer analizer? I haven't seen anything for this purpose... but with the proper cable, you could theoretically plug your PDA into your car and get diagnostic information out of it. While driving, you could monitor speed, distance travelled, etc. If priced right, this could be of great help to the common Saturday mechanic. Businesses could utilize it as a way to monitor fleet vehicles. It's an idea that's got potential - and a lot more convinient than the laptop setup I use now.