View Full Version : How do I download programs with zip files?

rgalexander
02-28-2003, 02:23 AM
I have tried several different zip file programs and have never been able to use programs that I have downloaded with zip files. I have several great programs that I can't use, and it is killing me. What is the best way to download programs with zip files so that I may use them on my pocket pc. Please help.

dean_shan
02-28-2003, 02:26 AM
Are you looking for a ZIP program for Pocket PC?

rgalexander
02-28-2003, 03:00 AM
Yes I am. I have tried Handy Zip and had great difficulty in downloading the programs on my pocket pc. I am a newbie and need the steps that are needed to download programswith zip files from the internet into my pocket pc.

Brad Adrian
02-28-2003, 03:29 AM
Unfortunately, it is still painful to try to download and install directly to a Pocket PC. Is there a reason you can't or don't want to download to a PC and install from there? Most apps are still created to be installed that way.

Pony99CA
02-28-2003, 06:22 AM
Yes I am. I have tried Handy Zip and had great difficulty in downloading the programs on my pocket pc. I am a newbie and need the steps that are needed to download programswith zip files from the internet into my pocket pc.
What is the "difficulty" you're having? As you're a newbie, I'll ask the obvious question -- are you sure the programs in these ZIP files are meant for the Pocket PC? Programs that run on your PC will not run on your Pocket PC.

Even if they are Pocket PC programs, some of the ZIP files only have installation programs in them that run on your PC, and you can't install directly from the Pocket PC.

Steve

rgalexander
02-28-2003, 06:57 AM