View Full Version : Timer control, dont see one... Need to trip function every X miliseconds... How?

PPCdev
02-17-2003, 03:21 AM
In VB (Sorry, Im growing up.. :-) there is a nifty Timer control I can drop on my form and set its interval in ms, enable or disable it. In that control I can put code, or a function call, etc..

I need to do the same thing with eVC++. However, I dont see a Timer control.

Im seeing this in the Help:

Timer Control
This control runs code at regular intervals by initiating a Timer event. The Timer control, invisible to the user, is useful for background processing.

Timer
The Timer control supports the following properties.

Enabled Name
Interval Parent
Left Top

However, Im unable to loacte the Timer control on the controls panel, and I dont see how to import it.

Im still new at this... I just got my 2ed SuperNewbie program working, gives percent of battery life. I want to get battery life every X ms and give a message box when the user defined percentage is met (IE: aleart when it drops to 30%).

Thanks for your help folks! Im getting there, with a lot of hacking time Ive started asking a little more educated questions. :-)

Andrew

smashcasi
02-17-2003, 06:06 AM
The best way to do this is generally in a separate thread, but since that opens the door to a whole new level of complication we'll stick with the timer function offered by Windows:

Go to View->Classwizard. In the "Class Name" dropdown select the class associated with the dialog or frame you want the timer to exist in. Next, in the "Messages" list box, scroll down to "WM_TIMER" and double-click on it. Then you'll need to write some code that looks something like this:

// id for the timer event
// (the value doesn't matter so long as its unique among your program's timer events)
#define MY_TIMER_EVENT (10)

// interval at which the timer event occurs (100ms)
#define MY_TIMER_EVENT_INTERVAL (100)

BOOL CMyDlg::OnInitDialog()
{
// ...