View Full Version : OHG! I thought I was confused before! eVC *NEWBIE* needs *HELP*

PPCdev
02-05-2003, 08:04 AM
Much more of this and Im gonna swipe some of the wife's Prozac! Jesus! Help!

A little background goes a long way, so... Ive been developing since I was about 12, started on a VIC-20 (Were going waaaay back now..), used BASIC on it and then on my C-64 (Loved that machine!). Self taught Assembly (6502) on it too! Graduated to IBMs and QuickBasic, and naturally VisualBasic, since V3.0. Im pretty fluent in VB, even written a web server program and several other nifty apps.. not to mentions some
CGIs and such.. (Also do a little PHP).

The few times I tried to learn 'C' I just gave up.. No help (no Internet then..) and totally confused.

Since I gotten my dear PPC, Ive grown found of it, and that drives me to want to develop apps for it. Im a beginner at 'C', so when I downloaded eMbedded Visual Tools 3.0, I started with eVB only to find it wont do native compile (Not that VB ever did mind you...) or any sort of executable binary. However, eVC will (correct me if Im wrong), and thats one of my priorities.

Its time for me to graduate to a real language, 'C'!!

To get on with the post, I later installed eVC and started it up, and man I was lost! I generated the sample 'Hello World' program from the start menu and I saw like 150 lines of code just to say 'Hello World'!! Man, Im intemidated now (Sp?).

Ive also downloaded PocketC and messed with that, and Im sure that Im on my way to learning 'C' as Ive written a few masterpieces (advanced 'Hello World' programs..) with that and am getting the 'C' syntax grasp.

However, the IDE of eVC has put me to tears! I cant find any "Your a stupid newbie to eVC IDE" web sites, and books on WinCE development is pretty scarse, not to mention beginner books for that are almost non-exisitent.