View Full Version : Secure Digital Questions

cabanaboy51
02-01-2003, 03:02 AM
Hey I should be getting my Dell Axim soon... My plan was to buy a SD card for memory purposes and then buy a wi-fi CF card. I just had some questions:

1- Did they drop that whole secure music initiative with SD cards? Can i use a SD card to store and play MP3's?

2- What is this SDIO thing that i keep reading about in the forums (sorry i'm new to this)

3 - Is 256mb the largest for SD or have they made any larger?

4 - Is there any chance of a SD wi-fi card?

Thanks a ton
-Brian

WyattEarp
02-01-2003, 03:24 AM
1- Did they drop that whole secure music initiative with SD cards? Can i use a SD card to store and play MP3's?

2- What is this SDIO thing that i keep reading about in the forums (sorry i'm new to this)

3 - Is 256mb the largest for SD or have they made any larger?

4 - Is there any chance of a SD wi-fi card?

1. No they haven't dropped it. It just isn't being used right now. Yes, you can listen and store MP3, WMA, Real and all the other formats to an SD card.

2. SDIO (Secure Digital Input/Output): allows the SD slot to have input/output capabilities just like the CF slots. Devices like GPS, WiFi need to send and recieve information a different way than when your just listening to music from it.

3. SD comes in 8MB, 16MB, 32MB, 64MB, 128MB, 256MB, 512MB & 1GB (may not be available yet)

4. Coming soon. Socket and SanDisk to be some of the first.

That should clear things up a bit. :D

KiLLiN-TiMe
02-01-2003, 03:41 AM
On the Dell the SD slot is on the side. So even if you could get a SDIO wifi card or something like it, it wouldn't be a very good spot for it. Kind of in the way.