View Full Version : Newbie needs help setting up a new 3635!

waynef
01-20-2003, 05:42 PM
I am a newbie who just bought his first PDA. It is an ipaq 3635 with 32 meg RAM and 16 meg ROM. I picked it up new on Ebay for $195. Being a newbie :oops: I wanted something at the lower end that would be functional and expandable. I can be a real space cadet at times and need something to help keep me organized.

At this point in time, I need something to maintain contacts, phone #s, appointments, notes and to do word processing and spreadsheet calculations. I haven't given much thought yet to music, games, etc. but I do want to do as much with it as possible (without overloading it).

I haven't received it yet, but, I need to know what firmware/software I need to upgrade before I start using it heavily. I also don't know anything about compactflash memory and need to know what and how much to buy. Also, I'd appreciate any recommendations pertaining to add-ons and accessories. I will especially need a convienient and easy to use case (hard?, soft?, style?, etc.) that I can hang on my belt that will hopefully keep me from losing it the first week I have it!

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!!!!!!!

Thanks.

Wayne :arrow:

vincentsiaw
01-20-2003, 07:12 PM
a good hard case, if you gonna fully used it or(abuse it), a ss2 or other compactflash sleeve and definateli a good screen protector, so far if you only want to maintain contacs, or email, use the original ppc 2002 softare is more than enough !! njoy your ipaq man! :D

waynef
01-20-2003, 09:16 PM
I'm fairly sure it comes with a sleeve. I just don't know what to put in it. :confused totally:

vincentsiaw
01-21-2003, 02:24 AM
if your house have a wi-fi network, buy a wi-fi card, if you got a bluetooth enabled cellphone, buy a bluetooth card!, or if you like to watch movie or listen to mp3, buy a big capacity compactflash memory then :wink:

ctmagnus
01-21-2003, 06:49 AM