View Full Version : Free Speech and The Internet: A Fish Story

Jason Dunn
01-10-2003, 10:29 PM
<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.buzzle.com/editorials/4-4-2002-15907.asp?viewPage=1' target='_blank'>http://www.buzzle.com/editorials/4-....asp?viewPage=1</a><br /><br /></div>This article scares the bejeebers of out me! 8O In a nutshell, people on a public discussion list began swapping stories about negative experiences they had with a certain vendor. The vendor is now suing the owner of the mailing list for upwards of $15 million. How long will it take for a Pocket PC OEM to come knocking on my door for the negative things said about them in the forums, or on the front page? It's a scary concept isn't it? What's the line between expressing your opinion and slander/libel? I'm not a lawyer, and I don't play one on TV, so I'm pretty much in the dark on this one...but this article made me wonder how long it will be until it happens here? It would be public-relations suicide for a Pocket PC company to sue Pocket PC Thoughts, but some companies don't care about what people think of them.<br /><br />Anyway, read the article and share your thoughts. But don't say anything bad about Buzzle.com or anyone else! :lol:

don dre
01-10-2003, 10:38 PM
Let's hope he loses. So far the courts have been pretty reasonable if I am not mistaken. Of course, all it takes is one court. I just read an article on jury mandering where they talked about how lawyers are taught to pick jurors that know nothing abotu the particular topic. Moreover, they pick ones who are least liekly to understand what's at stake. In so doing, they hoep to manipulate the jury for large sums. anyways, here
s to hoping no one takes offense to this site.

Jimmy Dodd
01-10-2003, 10:39 PM
Quick! Somebody slander me and I'll sue Jason for enough $$ for one of those HP 5450s. :lol:

theonegod
01-10-2003, 10:40 PM
It is only slander if it is not true.