View Full Version : Ok, so I'm Trying the Bluetooth Thing Again...

Jason Dunn
01-08-2003, 08:36 PM
Only this time, it's not for me, it's for a client of mine who has a <a href="http://www.shoprogers.com/store/wireless/content/phones/Phone_Details.asp?shopperID=4AE9UHN74TS92L49001J0A60JURE8SB0&name=nokia+6310i&number=41">Nokia 6310i</a>, a Dell Axim, and a Socket Bluetooth CF card. This is my first time configuring a Bluetooth phone to talk to a Pocket PC, so does anyone have any pointers? Does anyone have this phone? If so, how hard did you find configuring it? I'm asking all of you because the local cell carrier probably won't be of much help if (when?) I run into trouble.<br /><br />Can you tell I have low expectations here? Let's hope I'm wrong!

bdegroodt
01-08-2003, 08:43 PM
Jason-

Please please please don't have low expectations. I know BT had its issues early on, but I swear it's the most important tech addition to my life in 2002.

I use a 3975 and an Ericsson t68i and those 2 were born lovers. Worked perfectly the first time out of the box.

Is your client using a GPRS service or a circuit switched connection? That will make a difference on the set up. If you let me know, I can direct you to some decent sites that explain in detail. Also, who is the carrier?

crackerheads
01-08-2003, 08:55 PM
bdegroodt-

Could you please post links for both GPRS and circuit switched connections? I am currently using a circuit switched connection and it's giving me problems. I can connect, but usually get disconnected within 5 minutes. I have been considering using GPRS instead. I'd like to read up on both types some more and would appreciate any info you can provide.

Thanks!
Chung Tang

FredMurphy
01-08-2003, 08:55 PM
I don't have a Nokia so can't help with that, but I've found my Socket BT card to be excellent. Good product and helpful forums.

Things to check are: