View Full Version : Beaming from a PocketPC to a Palm

tony-m
01-06-2003, 12:16 AM
Hello,
I am new to pocket pcs. I used to own a palm and beaming & receiving appointments to my wife who also has a palm was a snap. However I can't seem to get this to work consistently with my pocketpc. For instance when the palm was beaming me an appointment infrared receive just said that it had established a connection but nothing happened beyond that. I am using the new Dell Axim5. Has anyone else got this to work successfully?

Thanks.
Tony

spursdude
01-06-2003, 12:24 AM
I can't really help you with this problem, sorry - however, I can tell you that it definitely works on my Maestro.

One thought, though - you shouldn't have to open the Infrared Receive program to receive appointments, contacts, etc. Go to Start>Settings>Connections tab>Beam, and make sure that "Receive all incoming beams and select discoverable mode" is checked. Then, just line up IR ports (without even opening up Infrared Receive), and from your Palm just select beam, and it should be sent over.

Your PPC should have a little pop-up window asking if you would like to receive the appointment (hit yes or ok, obviously).

Hopefully this solves the problem.

smokinvegas
01-06-2003, 01:32 AM
http://www.conduits.com/products/peacemaker/

Above is the link to the software that will allow your pocket pc to communicate with your palm device. I hope that this will help and you will enjoy your new pocket pc.

that_kid
01-06-2003, 03:43 AM
With Pocket pc 2002 you don't need peacemaker. It still has a place if you want to choose which fields from your ppc gets beamed to the palm.

tony-m
01-06-2003, 05:41 AM
Thanks everyone.

I have confirmed the receive checkbox is enabled in the settings.