View Full Version : newbie gamer question

dipper
12-20-2002, 03:06 AM
:?: I am a newbie to pocketpc. i have a hp jornada and i am currently interested in adding games. i enjoy word and puzzle games and the old classic arcade type games. what suggestions does any one have?

thanks

spursdude
12-20-2002, 04:42 AM
For arcade games, check out PocketNES (http://pocketnes.retrogames.com/). Basically, once you download ROMS online, you can play all of your good ol' NES games on your Pocket PC, and the emulator works well.

umichboy
12-20-2002, 05:26 AM
Does PocketNES work ok from an SD card? It seemed pretty slow, but I guess it was pretty slow from main memory too. Maybe a problem with the 5450? Or am I expecting too much from the emulator?

Fzara
12-20-2002, 06:41 AM
Where in the world do you find Roms from?
They're mostly illegal, but there are sites where you can find them from. I was wondering, what sites are they, if you can post them here.

Kati Compton
12-20-2002, 06:47 AM
Where in the world do you find Roms from?
They're mostly illegal, but there are sites where you can find them from. I was wondering, what sites are they, if you can post them here.

It's generally frowned upon to post a direct link. You will find it if you spend a little time searching for "NES ROMs". It isn't illegal (AFAIK) if you actually own the game you have the ROM of.

Fzara
12-21-2002, 09:42 PM
Forget about PocketNES, get PocketSX, an emulator for Sega Genesis.
I think.

Rirath
12-21-2002, 09:47 PM
Same as I always say... drop PokeNES, get YAME. (Also an NES emulator, among other things) You will -not- regret it. PokeNES started as a good idea, but never panned out. YAME has much better speed, sound, and graphics. There's been a few posts were to find it, or search the pokegamer.org forums.

JonnoB
12-21-2002, 10:23 PM