View Full Version : Help with GPS

Townshend
12-19-2002, 09:56 AM
I am a newbie when it comes to pocket pcs. I have been eyeing the HP 5455 for a while now, and I have decided I will buy it (all problems aside..since that can be later fixed by a update via HP, correct?). Anyway, I was looking into getting a CompactFlash GPS card for the 5455, but am unsure as what to get, especially since I saw at least one that is incompatable with thr 54xx series. If anyone has any suggestions please let me know, thank you!

eustts
12-19-2002, 06:18 PM
I would wait to make sure that the GPS in which you are going to buy has been verified by the manufacturer of the GPS to work with the new 545x series.

To kill the time waiting you can do tons of research on which is the best model of GPS to get. :D

jt3
12-23-2002, 04:05 PM
Just my two cents, but I'd recommend the Navman 3420. It's the same sleeve that Travroute uses for their Pocket CoPilot (Travroute gets them from Navman), with one crucial exception. Travroute modifies theirs so that they're only compatible with their Pocket CoPilot software, while Navman keeps theirs universally compatible. That means that you can use any GPS aware mapping software you wish. However, the mapping software that comes with it is the same that's used in most in-dash automotive Navigation Systems, and I like it MUCH better than Pocket CoPilot. Oh yeah... it's cheaper too.

Anyhoo... I've tested the Navman sleeve and software with my 5455, and it works like a dream. In case anyone is wondering where they can get more information on the Navman unit, here's a link (http://www.navmanusa.com/land/gps3420/index.html). By the way, I'm not associated with Navman in any way, nor do I receive any sort of kickback or commission if you should buy one. I'm just a happy customer, who spent a lot of time researching the various GPS solutions for my "old" iPAQ 3870.

sting0r
12-26-2002, 01:20 PM