View Full Version : A little assistance please . . .

Job
12-14-2002, 07:37 AM
I have never coded any program before (only websites), but I want begin once I receive my Axim. Where should I start? Could you please post links to any helpful tutorials, programs, or any other pertinent information.

Kati Compton
12-14-2002, 09:12 AM
I have never coded any program before (only websites), but I want begin once I receive my Axim. Where should I start? Could you please post links to any helpful tutorials, programs, or any other pertinent information.

Does this mean you have no grounding in programming languages?

Pony99CA
12-14-2002, 10:12 AM
My Pocket PC Web site has some developer links (http://www.garlic.com/~svvg/svvgppc.html#DEVELOPMENT). Check them out.

Steve

Job
12-14-2002, 04:11 PM
Kati: Basically no computer language background. I know a very little bit of Javascript (for my website, pop-up windows and the like), but I have no knowledge or BASIC or C++ or anything else, really. Should I learn those first?

Sven Johannsen
12-14-2002, 04:43 PM
Absolutely you should learn Basic or C++ first, but that doesn't mean you can't learn it with the PPC. You have to learn it on some platform.

The great news is, that the embedded Visual Tools 3.0 suite is still a free download. http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/dnppc2k2/html/PocketPC2002DownloadsNodeAnchorPage.asp and you'll want the PPC2002 SDK (Software Developement Kit)

Then I'd say get a book on developing for the device. I haven't looked recently to see if there are some more books specifically on PPC but there is a pretty good book by Larry Roof, Professional Visual Basic Windows CE Programming (WROX Press) that gives a good start. Throw some terms in the Amazon search and you'll likely find a good number. There are always the online forums too.

Janak Parekh
12-14-2002, 06:32 PM