View Full Version : GPS and WiFi on the same unit?

pkphy39
12-10-2002, 10:27 PM
Hi,

I'm currently a Palm user in dire need of a handheld upgrade, and I'd like to get some recommendations...

I would use the unit for everything from media (DIVX and MP3) to email/web access to navigation (GPS), but what I'd really like to do (I'm a developer) is get a unit that can have both a GPS receiver and WiFi (802.11b) access at the same time.

Any ideas? Also, with the current crop of GPS receivers, are there any that allow access to the barebones information? So that I could grab it with a custom app that I develop? I realize that half of this post belongs in "Development" and the other half belongs here, so if you just want to respond to the Wireless questions that's totally cool.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance,
Mark

JonnoB
12-10-2002, 10:48 PM
If you need both WiFi and GPS at the same time your current choices are those that have integrated WiFi (Toshiba e740 or HP 5450) and an add-on GPS CF card or sleave. If you want cheap, get the Toshiba... if price is no option, I have heard great reviews of the new iPaq.

TheNewSteve
12-10-2002, 11:04 PM
There are a couple ways to do this right now. There are CF GPS units, which go into the PPC, and SocketCom also has a Bluetooth GPS unit, which can talk to a Bluetooth enabled PPC (either built-in or with a Bluetooth card).

Basically, PPC handhelds usually have one SD slot (no SDIO cards for this in most units, so it can only be used for memory) and sometimes an additional CF slot (this can be used for memory or peripherals.

The Dell and Toshiba e740 units have both SD and CF slots. Toshiba's e740 also has WiFi built in, freeing up the CF slot for a GPS unit. Dell has plans in early 2003 for a unit that also has WiFi built in.