View Full Version : pocket pc newb, help?

TimDgsr
11-10-2002, 06:15 PM
I'm new to pocket pcs, and I'm looking into getting one for Christmas. I'm trying to find out pros and cons for all the different brands. I've been looking at the Ipaq line, but not sure what all I need to look for in a pocket pc. Like battery life, built-in bluetooth vs wi-fi, etc. Do the toshibas not connect to any type of foldable keyboard? Any kind of information/opinions would be greatly appreciated

thanks

Sheynk
11-10-2002, 07:49 PM
WELCOME

First of all you have to decide the $$$ issue.

If you want top of the line with blue tooth : GO Ipaq 3970
If you want top of the line w/o blue tooth : Go Ipaq 3955

Things you have to keep in mind are
- How important is the screen to me
- How important is expansion to me
- How important is speed to me
- How important it is to have top of the line
All the factors need to be considered. If you dont cara much for size, then the Ipaq is the most expandable thru sleeves, but if you do, then all you get with the Ipaq is SD. Also consider the Dell Axim 5 and the new Toshiba (i dont recommend the wifi one. bat life sucks./ instead go ipaq battery sleeve with wifi card) I believe the name is 33x (x=some thing)

Also, do you need/want xscale?

Good luck.

TimDgsr
11-10-2002, 09:46 PM
I'd like to have an xscale. I can't really think of any reason I need bluetooth, but then again I'm not really sure of all its capabilities. I was looking to spend under 1k, with accessories. I was thinking the 3955 or the 3970, but I wasn't sure if any other brands had a model similar to these. I don't have a wi-fi setup in my house or anywhere I go for that matter, but it wouldn't hurt to have it for future use.