View Full Version : Trying to figure out Activesync w/802.11b

easberry
10-15-2002, 12:52 AM
Howdy all...

I'm new to the PocketPC world, as a former Palm and Visor user. I was quite impressed with the capabilities of the e740 with integrated wifi etc, so I bought one.

One thing that has been frustrating to me is trying to get Activesync to work over the integrated wifi. I'm was able to use Activesync with the USB cradle, which I understand is a needed first step. I'm also able to surf the internet via the 802.11b. I can ping the silly thing's IP address from my desktop. But I cannot for the life of me figure out how to make it Activesync over the 802.11b

I found an article on Microsoft's site that talked about how wonderful and simple it was ... apparently the author was using an IPAQ. She talked about running Activesync and telling it which connection to used ... but I don't get any choice like that.

I have the server name set to my desktop's IP. (I've also tried setting it to the NETBIOS name, seems to make no difference).

I'm not sure whether I should have the "include PC when synchronizing remote and connect to:" box checked or not. If I have it checked with the server name set to my desktop PC's NETBIOS name, when I hit "sync" I get a popup error "Trouble Connecting: Unable to connect with current settings ... To change your connection settings, tap settings". But this seems to just take me to my network settings which seem OK.

If I don't check the box, I get a different error. (not a popup though). It says "Synchronization failed. If the problem continues, contact your network administrator. Error code: 0x80090305"

I've tried searching Toshiba's site, google, microsoft, newsgroups and can't seem to find anybody having the same problem. I'm sure I'm doing something dumb, because I'm just not as familiar with the windows environment on a handheld.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Eric

David McNamee
10-15-2002, 03:08 AM